The Walk – A Poem

addtext_com_MTM1MDM0MzIzMTE

The Walk

The sentimental value of my old life cursed,
Settlement for nothing as the novelty bursts,
Out from the shrubbery the young fox crawls,
as my knees are deserting the narcotic calls.
Awakening the evening with my screams of freedom,
walking with the lights on is a sinner with no reason.
Marching blind, moving behind, a shadow that is no longer there.
Walk the straight, walk alone, walk away.

I’ am reborn with every step I take,
baptised in a new life that I choose to make.
Diminishing memories of friendships broken,
leaving them behind with no words spoken.
Running from pills that scramble my head,
back to a mother who thought I was dead.
I have not washed, I’ am but crushed, from a monster that is no longer there.
Walk the straight, walk alone, walk away.

Make me a wish, make me a life, make me find,
piecing fragments of a ruined mind.
Fortune favours the brave I hear,
to live in a world with nothing to fear.
Dreams are forgotten and goals snorted away,
I pray I stay alive just one more day.
The world is my oyster, with the help of a family that were always there.
I’ve walked the straight, I’ve walked alone, I walked away.

-LastOfTheAuthors

Leave a Reply

