Today i won NaNoWriMo

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

It’s done, it’s over, I’ve only gone and bloody won.
Will I give myself a pat on the back? Your damn right I will, this was one of the most challenging experiences of my life. I’m not exactly known best for finishing what I started so for me this was one huge obstacle well and truly smashed to pieces.
My novel isn’t finished, not just in terms of editing the damn thing, but I haven’t actually finished it. My goal was to reach 50k and my end total was 53,820. I have given it a temporary name for those interested, it’s called ‘The Past Apprentice’, as I said only temporary, I feel like I could do a whole lot better.
One of the most difficult things about doing this NaNoWriMo was juggling my writing between Family, work and of course two separate illnesses. I found it amusing watching my progress graph come to a halt every time I found myself ill.
For anyone who writes and has yet to do a NaNoWriMo I strongly urge you to have a go next year, it teaches you so much about your writing and even yourself. It pushes you to your limits and pushes you to your ultimate goal, a novel.
Now it’s over, well I’m taking a small break from my laptop, think of this as my warm down blog from the marathon of writing I’ve just done. Good news is, I will be back blogging a lot more often, I mean hey, it will be small fish compared to averaging 1,700 or so words a night.
I will continue to keep you posted on the long editing stage of my first completed novel, with little insights into what the story is about. For now, goodnight readers.
-LastOfTheAuthors

Leave a Reply

