Change

We all go through transitions throughout our lives whether it’s in our careers or our personal life and what we have all experienced is that change is scary. I’m a recent graduate of illustration who has just left the safety of my University course, my student house and my student loan. I’m now meant to go off into the big wide world and discover who I’m meant to be and what I’m meant to do. What University doesn’t prepare you for is the in between stage of unemployment and I can tell you that it’s pretty terrifying. I’ve gone through phases of self doubt and panic about my skills in art and design and the thought of judgement from others has meant I’ve avoided my sketchbooks sometimes for weeks on end. Nobody wants to be told that they’re not very good at what they love and for me that’s all forms of art. Sometimes I feel like my work is along the same standards as Napoleon Dynamites.

6851_1213145445223_221_291

In becoming so wrapped up in myself what I need to remember is that everyone is in the same boat. Working towards what you want isn’t easy but that’s how you know it’s worth working for. This in between stage of rejection enables us to grow and It seems very cliche but there is truth behind it. I really hope that Last of the Authors will help me to develop my creative writing and creative thinking amongst other like minded people and in doing so I hope that I can create imagery that reflects the thoughts and ideas shown on this blog. I’ve been putting this post off because I’m not a strong writer at all but if you avoid doing things you’ve never had a go at then you’re not going to get anywhere.

One thought on “Change

  1. I think we all go through a period of insecurity with our craft. Sometimes I feel like my writing is great, then I’ll start to doubt myself. I try to remember that I can’t please everyone. All I can do is be the best I can be and hope everything falls into place!

    Like

Leave a Reply

