Learn to read

20140727-233947-85187077.jpg

A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one. – George R. R. Martin

“Reading is boring!” “I don’t have the time to read.”
I listen to excuses all the time, I even get laughed at for choosing to read in my spare time, as if I’m doing it just to look smarter.
“I’d rather just watch television or a film.”
That’s my favourite excuse as the best TV or films are usually derived from a book, even then if you actually read the book version you would see that it eclipses the TV/film as it’s only a directors portrayal. Nothing close to the awesome power of the human imagination. If it’s not come from a book then, I’m sorry your just watching the same garbage repeated to you in a million different scenarios.
Now hey, I’m not putting a gun to your head and sending you down to a library to convert you into a book monk, just a friendly nudge into a whole new world. You might have even tried reading and found it boring, chances are you just haven’t found the right book. Pop down to a book store, tell them what TV and film you’re into and they might just surprise, they might hand you the start of something very very special.

Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them. – Lemony Snicket

Simple times
We live in a world where stupidity is glorified, the idiots of the generation are put on a pedestal and worshipped. Let’s bring back smart, let’s glorify intellect again, let’s make the great Authors of this world celebrities again (autobiographies don’t count), I know who I’d prefer my children to idolise.
Reading makes you smarter. Research says so, many people nowadays are into keeping fit, building muscle and dieting for a longer life, it’s easy to forget about the brain. Reading is a great exercise to keep your brain in shape, slower memory decline in old age and less chance of getting Alzheimer’s Disease.
” Just as physical activity strengthens the heart, muscles and bones, intellectual activity strengthens the brain against disease.”
– Dr Robert P. Friedland
Reading can help you sleep, help with learning new dialogue and even make friends.

There is no friend as loyal as a book – Ernest Hemingway

Building Blocks
Reading can be the only time for quiet in an otherwise noisy world. Take your mind for a ride through mystical lands or to different galaxy’s, live out a timeless love story, buddy up with a top detective and solve the unsolvable or even scare yourself to sleep if that excites you. Open up to pages and pages of endless possibilities and inspire yourself, you never know what could come from picking up a book.
I can use myself as an example, sure why not. Lunch breaks spent reading the national newspaper full of today’s ‘Crap’, flicking through ‘women’s magazines’ (they were always just there). I didn’t even know half the ‘celebrities in them but can honestly say I might just be an expert in the literal rise and fall of Kim Kardashian’s backside, I’m awaiting my honouree degree, not very mind stimulating stuff. I clearly enjoyed looking at words ( and half naked ladies ) so when my Dad had a suggested book for me I gave it a try. He had suggested titles to me in the past and I would pretend to be interested so I took the plunge. ‘Wool’ by Hugh Howey, it blew my mind, I was a changed person and even emailed Mr Howey personally thanking him for writing his book. I even received an email back, I got the same feeling a twelve year old girl would get about getting a personal ‘tweet’ from Miley Cyrus, yes… I felt like a 12 year old girl…
I asked my Dad for more and more is what I got, books and books all transforming me into a read-a-holic. My Dad and I haven’t been the closest growing up to say the least, I guess I never felt like I knew him. When I read through all these books it was like getting to know my own father, I saw not just stories but an insight into my Dad, an insight into me. Like a missing piece of a puzzle I felt changed, I felt meaning and I felt more purpose. Reading has given me so much, even leading to this blog, a chance to write, I didn’t even know I enjoyed writing, now I have more than a father… I have a friend. I’m not saying pick up a book it will revolutionise your life, but give it a try… You just never know.

2 thoughts on “Learn to read

Leave a Reply

