Review + Q & A with Alysha Kaye ‘THE WAITING ROOM’

Summary of The Waiting Room:
Jude and Nina are the epitome of that whole raw, unflinching love thing that most people are jealous of. That is, until Jude dies and wakes up in The Waiting Room, surrounded by other souls who are all waiting to pass over into their next life. But unlike those souls, Jude’s name is never called by the mysterious “receptionist”. He waits, watching Nina out of giant windows. He’s waiting for her. What is this place? How long will he wait? And what will happen when and if Nina does join him? The Waiting Room is a story of not just love, but of faith, predestination, and philosophy, friendship and self-actualization, of waiting.

The Review

‘The Waiting Room’ is the debut novel by Alysha Kaye.
I picked up a copy hoping to whizz through (even if I’ve never been an overly quick reader), only to be grounded down to the slow and steady read that is the waiting room.
If I’m honest, and i’am, I’m not one to pick up a romantic/spiritual novel, give me space travel and crime thrillers any day so it came as a shock to my system how utterly enjoyable this story was.
I adored the original concept of entering a waiting room before passing into the afterlife. Kaye jumps narration between the two lovers, Jude and Nina, giving an easy on my brain account of both sides to the love story. I admire how Kaye was able to bond a connection between reader and of not just the central characters but of the other visitors to the room, each one having a different sub-story that left me itching to read more from these characters.
Kaye has written a novel about death that does not depress, it warms the mind and soul. It’s an imperfect love story with an imperfect couple that are so easily relatable. Jude’s determination to wait for Nina really tugged at heart strings I never knew were there. Overall an outstanding debut (yes you will be trying to convince yourself it’s a debut) novel, that I would highly recommend as a summer read by the pool.

Q and A with Alysha Kaye

– What inspired you to write about such an original novel?
The concept of the room actually came to me in a dream! It stuck in my mind like glue…I knew I just had to write about it.
– Of any of the characters are there any that you see yourself in?
I definitely feel like there are tiny snippets of me in every character haha Nina is an English teacher, like me. But I am more cynical and sarcastic, like Jude.
– If you could choose any known author as a mentor who would it be? That’s always a tough question. I’ve always wanted to have a drink or five with Salinger. That would be…amazing.
– The story of the waiting room is so emotional, did you find any of it difficult to write?
Parts of it really pulled at my heart. It was good for me though, I needed to go through that. Writing is definitely my outlet.
And lastly…
– Are you currently working on another ( much anticipated ) novel?
If so have you got any exclusive news I can share? I have one chapter written of a realistic fiction novel…but honestly, I loved the fantasy element of THE WAITING ROOM so much, so now I’m thinking about ditching the realistic novel to start a new fantasy piece!
20140718-155907-57547562.jpg

You can visit Alysha at;
alyshakaye.wordpress.com

http://alyshakaye.com/

Buy yourself a copy of THE WAITING ROOM now from;

Book copy

Kindle

One thought on “Review + Q & A with Alysha Kaye ‘THE WAITING ROOM’

Leave a Reply

