The Present…

813

 

It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a damn sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.

– C. S. Lewis

The present is a gift, it’s the here and now, the happening of this moment in time. Everything you, we, them, have done in the past has got us here. Our future, however long, is determined by our actions today, making the present the centre of everything.

Will i look back to today through a sea of success or will i look back at wasted time? Success is the time and effort that’s put in now.

I have two very young children, a wife and a full-time job, time is precious, time is almost null. I’ve decided on committing myself to at least an hour of writing a day, not much…  sure, but i wouldn’t change my life to fit around writing, because it’s my life that inspires writing.

The gift; my wife and I celebrated our first year of marriage recently, I wanted to give her something special whilst keeping  with the themes of each year (means I’m currently saving for our diamond year now). Year one is paper, so, ever the romantic I wrote her a book, a love story, our love story. Luckily, and i say luckily with a pinch of salt, our story isn’t your typical boy meets girl, boy marries girl, there is a checkered past and some unusual obstacles that meant we nearly weren’t to be. I wouldn’t be able to publish my book as it’s a personal gift to her with details of my life that are for her mind only (i hope you understand).

This is a short section im allowing you, the extremely interested reader, to have a peak at;

Standing, staring, only feet away from your touch. Buildings around spread thinner and smaller, the grass where I stand unites into a yellow brick road that leads straight to the heart of your body. You stand there as a vulnerable woman but you tense your body and hold tight with bravery. No words were spoken as I marched towards you, we kissed, straight from a hollywood movie.

I used a website called Blurb.com for my personal publishing needs, i found them extremely pricey, but I was extremely satisfied with what I paid for as the quality of the book was incredible, here she is in all her glory:

779

When reading, i watched as my wife bawled her eyes out, sure it was a personal, sure it was a ridiculously long love letter, but to me it was proof that my written words can effect that much emotion onto another person, it was the shove i needed to start a book that i can share with the world. – Enjoy your today bloggers.

Leave a Reply

